Shawn’s report gives the basics regarding weather, schedule, etc.
We had been looking forward to Madera for some time as we had 9 riders in the division plus Paco in the 55+ that ran simultaneously. Attendees were Paul G., Gregg, Mike D., Doug G., Jonathan, Barney, Sven, Jeff G., Paco and myself. I think 22 total Team RW riders present across 5(?) divisions, Great team showing!
In the crit, we tried to keep the breaks under control and snatch up available time premes while permitting Paul (our top GC contender) run as he pleased. For the most part we succeeded in keeping things together — certainly to the point of having the main team opponent (Morgan Stanley) pissed off at us. I had assinged myself the task of sitting back and waiting for the final five laps to help Paul if need but to conserve energy for the TT (the prime “sorting hat” as Paul noted for this stage race). I failed to keep to this role as I ws active with no particular results (going for one preme from .5 lap out; hanging on to a break, etc.). In the end Bubba got away in the final several laps to wim (20 sec. bonus plus 20(?) sec. time advantage over the field. Not good to spot this guy 40 seconds in the first stage. Gregg raced well, he nearly nabbed a preme and got 3rd in the finale to get a 5 sec. bonus. Be thinking about how we can work for Gregg in the District crit championship. In general, I think we functioned about as good as we can expect from our first race together. The open 45s present a range of talents, from national champs down to guys riding their first races. We need to communicate more during the race both on an instinctual level (gained form racing a lot together) and openly. But that will come from time.
After the race we grabbed sandwiches and crashed on the grass and tried to relax in prep for the TT in 2 hours. Legs up, liquids down.
The TT for me was the first time I had really ridden my new TT bike position (new stem that lowered by shoulders dramatically. In prep, I tried to do some streching the night/morning before, but as I took off and for the first 4 miles, I could feel muscles in my hindquarters hitherto unknown to me. I managed to hit all the corners but I had a hard time maintaining a decent cadence/gearing pattern. I would have to slip up a gear every so often as my body rebelled. Without data of any kind, I had no idea of my performance. But I will say that the team presence provided my final motivational resort over the last 2 miles of pain. And let me say that the long-sleeved skin suit in 90+ heat is treat! Because no results were available until the next morning, not idea of the time – nobody passed me though.
After a great dinner with the team — we gotta get Barney’s girlfriend (former 10 year pro) to teach us a few things — and weird night — the power kept going out — we arrived at the RR venue for an 8ish start. Up came the TT result and I sat 4th, Paul 7th (15 secs from me), Mike D. 12th, Gregg 13. Bubba beat the field by 30 or so seconds so he had a minute plus on every one. An Organ Manley rider was second, with Kurt B. in 3rd. Note but the TT. I went 10 seconds faster two years ago on the same course with substantially less fitness — such was the effect of the heat (and headwind?).
A quick tactical discussion has us watching for Morgan Stanley and VOS (Kurt’s team) to attack Bubba early. We needed to make sure that either Paul or I the right break to make Bubba work and tire him out. MS attacked right away, seemed like various efforts chased and by the first right had corner we had come back together. Near the Roubaix section on the first of three laps, Kurt wandered off the front. He hung a bit. I then came up and we nooddled along trading fake pulls to look like we were making a break knowing that without an MS rider we would be chased down. Then riders starting bridging up. First couple were minor teams, then an MS rider; we bean to get serious. The the Morgan Stanley lead GC rider joined us (I had his number imprinted) and then Paul bridged up solo and we were off riding hard. Through the rollers and down the long eastern side we generally rotated well and hard. At the start of the second rollers the moto came up and said we had a couple minutes on the field with several riders in between (Note: First race with a moto!!!!) We came through the rollers disorganized but riding generally hard. At the corning starting lap three we were got by Bubba and two other riders. An impressive display of bridging ability given that Bubba likely did most of the work.
Once together with Bubba we had to attack him. After a couple of feeble efforts, Paul and the MS rider went off together for about 3-4 miles. Bubba did most of the work chasing down aided by VOS a bit since they had nobody up the road. After Paul was caught, a chased a rider who went off solo and Bubba chased catching me relatively quickly. Then Paul attacked solo. With about half a lap to go. Paul kept off the front and forced Bubba to chase (I was glued to his wheel). Kurt and the MS rider helped chased a bit but mainly Bubba was on the front. As we got closer to the finish it became clear that Paul would stay away. Would he make the necessary 1minute plus to catch Bubba? We came in over the rollers and Kurt, the MS guy and I put distance on the rest of the front group with Bubba hanging tough just behind. I could not hold Kurt and the MS rider on the final hill for a forth place finish.
In the end, Paul did not get back enough time to go with his first place bonus time to crack the top 3. So Paul won the RR stage and I got 4th. For the final GC Paul got 4th and I 5th. As Kurt notes, Reno rider placed 4 out of the top 5 in the GC (sure would be nice to be all from the same team).
No comments:
Post a Comment